Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion General Technical Engine fault after new parts

Engine fault after new parts

Anything about the RCZ that doesn't belong in the forums below including Service & warranty questions

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:27 pm
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
Hi folks, apologies if this has been posted by someone else previously but can’t find anything as specific..fault light was coming on, got timing belt, crankshaft sensor and camshaft sensors changed. Ran for 11 days with no fault light then it came back on again today. Any thoughts or advice? Really pretty hacked off now.


Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:41 pm
RCZIain Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 677
Kudos: 199
Location: Lincolnshire
Does it have any fault codes stored?

Sent from my VFD 710 using Tapatalk
Image
Sandra, 2011 200 GT. Shark grey, Ulter Quad exhaust, Vision pack, jbl and Nav.

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:04 pm
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
Have cleared the code but it’s p0016

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:09 pm
wilsofar Regular
Regular

Posts: 10
Kudos: 5
This all very familiar- I presume Main Dealers?

They follow the fault codes religiously without using any common sense despite physical warnings being the more obvious cause.

I know and (to my shame) am now £1500 lighter!

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:39 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3693
Kudos: 1117
Location: Yorkshire
Does the car run ok? What is the year, mileage & variant of the car?

Other common faults are HP fuel pump & coil packs, but these generally show themselves with the car not running properly.
I don’t have a reader so I am not familiar with that fault code.

I would think someone else on here will have encountered it at some time.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:20 pm
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
The fault is the crankshaft position I think. The car runs fine though,It’s a 61 plate 156bhp petrol.
It’s a local mechanic I’ve taken it to. Trying to avoid main dealer robbery!

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:50 pm
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1223
Kudos: 528
I Have heard of problems with faulty crank / can sensors, you may have had a duff sensor fitted?? But only a guess there has been a post on here to that effect.

If your cars running perfectly then I would be tempted to ignore. :thumbup:
Image
Launch edition Pearl White Carbon roof & Wing Mirror covers / mat black Graphics

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:33 am
RCZash User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 476
Kudos: 141
Hi
If my memory serve me well. After the timing chain is replaced there has to be a software update, was this done?
2012 Asphalt
2015 208 GTI Prestige

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:28 pm
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
I contacted Peugeot who took the VIN number and advised me no ECU update should be required.
I could get a remap but I’m not sure that’s help

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:32 pm
RCZIain Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 677
Kudos: 199
Location: Lincolnshire
I recently had the chain, tensioners and VVT sprockets replaced on my car and no mention was made of any ECU update.
Nor is it listed on the receipt.
Image
Sandra, 2011 200 GT. Shark grey, Ulter Quad exhaust, Vision pack, jbl and Nav.

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:26 pm
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
Have you had any issues since all that was changed?

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:47 pm
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1223
Kudos: 528
I wouldn’t do a remap at this point, did the independent garage do the timing chain?
Image
Launch edition Pearl White Carbon roof & Wing Mirror covers / mat black Graphics

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:55 pm
RCZIain Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 677
Kudos: 199
Location: Lincolnshire
Not with the chain, that I know of.
I do have a noise from that area, but I think it's a belt tensioner or pulley.
ScottI74 wrote:
Have you had any issues since all that was changed?


Sent from my VFD 710 using Tapatalk
Image
Sandra, 2011 200 GT. Shark grey, Ulter Quad exhaust, Vision pack, jbl and Nav.

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:37 pm
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
The chain was done first under warranty but not by main dealer

Post Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:13 pm
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1223
Kudos: 528
That code is definitely cam position so it could be that when the timing chain was replaced they didn’t get the timing just right but I would have thought It would run poorly?? And did they replace all the kit chain tensioner guides?
Image
Launch edition Pearl White Carbon roof & Wing Mirror covers / mat black Graphics

Post Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:09 am
ScottI74 Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 0
Not sure what they did when they fitted the chain. It runs pretty well tbh


Return to General Technical